President Judith Huntington
invites you to the
Dorothy Ann Kelly, O.S.U.
Women of Leadership Gala
in support of the
Sr. Dorothy Ann Kelly Scholarship Fund
Thursday, March 6, 2014
Glen Island Harbour Club
Glen Island Park
New Rochelle, New York
RSVP by February 21, 2014
Cocktails: 6 p.m.; Dinner: 7 p.m.
Business formal

Emcee: Elizabeth Bracken-Thompson
Partner, Thompson & Bender


Our distinguished Honorees will receive the Dorothy Ann Kelly, O.S.U. Women of Leadership Award.

Alice Gallin, O.S.U.

Educator, Scholar, and Historian
The College of New Rochelle Scholar-in-Residence

Ellen Mooney Hancock

Former Chairman and CEO
Exodus Communications

Aulana Pharis Peters

Retired Partner, Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher
Former Commissioner, The Securities and Exchange Commission

Mercedes Ruehl

Award-winning American Theater, Television, and Film Actress

Patricia Tracey

Vice Admiral (Ret) U.S. Navy
Vice President of Homeland Security and Defense Services, Hewlett Packard Enterprise Services

Dorothy Ann Kelly, O.S.U. (1929-2009)

Dorothy Ann Kelly

Greatly respected for her commitment to quality education, access, and innovation, Sr. Dorothy Ann was a national leader in higher education. During her 25 years as president of The College of New Rochelle, she reaffirmed the College’s commitment to the empowerment of women, the liberal arts, the study and use of technology, and the business, civic and cultural concerns of Westchester County.

Under Sr. Dorothy Ann’s leadership, the College grew from one school on one campus with a student body of approximately 900 to four schools with seven campuses and a student enrollment of over 6,500. She was instrumental in the founding of three of the College’s four schools — the Graduate School, the School of New Resources, and the School of Nursing.

Sr. Dorothy Ann’s leadership and her commitment to providing access to education stretch well beyond the College. She became the first woman Chair of the New York State Commission on Independent Colleges and Universities, and was named the first woman Chair of the National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities (NAICU). In recognition of her leadership role in independent higher education, Sr. Dorothy Ann also was the first woman to receive the Henry D. Paley Memorial Award from NAICU. She was the only women’s college president to serve as a member of the official U.S. delegation to the Fourth U.N. Conference for Women held in Beijing, China in 1995.

In addition to her many years as president, Sr. Dorothy Ann’s association with The College of New Rochelle spanned more than five decades. She first came to the College as a student in 1947 and later served as a member of the faculty, as dean, and then as chancellor following her years as president.

The College of New Rochelle and American higher education are the beneficiaries of this multi-talented, highly competent, visionary woman.